An experienced workers’ compensation attorney at Setyan Law can help you with filing a claim. Call our workers’ compensation law firm today at 213-618-3655 for a free case consultation.
Why Choose Setyan Law for Workmans’ Comp Claims
A Top Los Angeles Workers Comp Law Firm
Knowledge of California Workers’ Compensation Law
Personal Attention for Your Case
How Can a Los Angeles Workers’ Compensation Attorney Help Me?
Workers’ Comp Cases We Handle
- Construction Accidents
- Occupational Diseases
- Long-Term Exposure and Illnesses
- Workplace Car Accidents
- Asbestos Exposure
- Electrocution and Shock Injuries
- Repetitive Motion Injuries
- Traumatic Brain Injuries (TBIs)
- Slips and Falls
- FELA Railroad Injuries
- Unsafe Working Condition Injuries
- Catastrophic Injuries
- Fatal Workplace Accidents
- Amazon Fulfillment Center Claims
Workers’ Compensation Frequently Asked Questions
Is There a Time Limit for Filing a Workers’ Compensation Claim?You have one year from the date of injury to file a workers’ compensation claim in California. This is called a “statute of limitations.”There are other workers’ comp deadlines as well. You might wonder how to report a workplace injury. You must notify your employer of your injury within 30 days to be eligible for workmans’ comp benefits. Your employer is required to notify their insurance company of your injury within 10 days. If any of these time limits are not met, you may have difficulty getting the compensation you deserve.
How Much of My Salary Will Workers’ Compensation Pay Me?Workers’ comp benefits will not pay 100% of your salary or hourly wage. They will reimburse you for lost wages up to two-thirds of your gross weekly earnings. However, there is also a cap on how much you can receive weekly. That limit changes annually.
How Long Can I Receive Workers’ Compensation?The maximum amount of time you can get workers’ compensation in California is 104 weeks (two years) within a five-year period. The period begins on the date of your injury. You do not have to use the entire 104 weeks consecutively. However, certain catastrophic or serious injuries may qualify for up to 240 weeks of financial benefits. Permanently disabling benefits may result in benefits for life.
Can I Get Fired for Reporting a Workplace Injury?A California employer may not fire you for reporting an injury or filing a workers’ compensation claim. This is called retaliation, and it is illegal. However, your employer can terminate your employment if you are no longer able to perform your essential job functions and you will be able to get lost wages as a result. You may also be eligible for occupational therapy and new job training if you can no longer do your previous job duties.